Skip Navigation LinksHome >> Adults

 The Library offers:

  • books in several formats, including hard cover, paper back, Large Print, audio books, and adult literacy material;
  • magazines and newspapers;
  • DVDS, videos and music CDs;
  • high-speed wireless Internet access;
  • Microsoft Office word processing computer stations;
  • reference material;
  • local history and genealogy resources;
  • Library programs for adults.

Please spend some time browsing this website to see what we have to offer, then come into either branch of the Library and browse some more.


Port Hope Public Library invites you to spend time at both branches. For your convenience, the two-storey Mary J. Benson Branch has an elevator located to the right when you enter the building.

 


Books To Check Out

Thursday August 11
All The Missing Girls by Megan Miranda
Ten years after the disappearance of her friend, Nicolette Farrell, returns to Cooley Ridge. Days after Nicolette's return another friend,
Annaleise, the girl whose alibi set free three persons of interest goes missing. The story starts 15 days after Annaleise goes missing works backwards to the day of her disappearance.

Descent by Tim Johnston
In the hopes of repairing their marriage, the Courtland’s take a rocky mountain family holiday with their children. Daughter Caitlin, an avid runner who will be off to college that fall, hopes the mountains will challenge her skill. She and younger brother Sean go out for an early morning run but only Sean returns....
What happened to Caitlin? How long do you search?

Belgravia by Julian Fellows (creator of Downton Abbey)
It is the eve of the Battle of Waterloo in Brussels (1815). The story begins at the Duchess of Richmond's Ball and traces it way through the decades afterward. From the
class-cross love affair between Sophia, daughter of a socially ambitious merchant and Edmund, scion of one of Britain's finest families at the ball emerges a devastating family secret.
Perfect for fans of Downtown Abbey.


Thursday August 4
The Widow by Fiona Barton
A loving husband or a heartless killer...she'd know, wouldn't she?
A gripping, thrilling tale for fans of Girl On A Train and Gone Girl.

Before The Fall by Noah Hawley
On a foggy summer night, eleven people depart Martha's Vineyard on a jet headed for New York. Sixteen minutes later, the unthinkable happens: the plane plunges into the ocean.
The thriller of the year.